Community Advisory Board discusses police use of force policy

The Bethlehem Gadfly George Floyd killing, Police July 15, 2020



On the City Facebook page: "Last evening we kicked off the first monthly meeting of the Community Advisory Board — sponsored by the local NAACP and President Lee — with Mayor Donchez and 23 members of the community participating. The city's Use of Force Policy and the responsibilities of the city's professional standards unit were discussed."

As of 8am this morning, there were two comments to the post: "Was this a secret???" and "Was this invite only?"

Exactly Gadfly's sentiments.

Gadfly ventures to say that there's a kind of hunger in the wider "community" for such a presentation and subsequent discussion.

Will there be a report on the meeting? Gadfly has been confused about how this group fits into the need for local public discourse responding to the George Floyd murder.

He hopes that the local press was there and that we'll see an article on the meeting.

Who are the members of the "Community Advisory Board"? Below is a list.

At the very least, one wonders about representatives from **Black Lives Matter** on the Board. At the very least, one would hope that **the**

activists who spoke at Council July 7 were present and participating last night.

Gadfly hopes that the police presentation will be repeated at the Community Engagement Initiative the Mayor may be forming per the City Council resolution and a Council Public Safety Committee meeting now in limbo because of COVID-19.

7/13/20 Community Advisory Board Membership

Robert Donchez, Mayor

Esther Lee, President Bethlehem Unit NAACP

City Council – Grace Crampsie-Smith, Michael Colon

Northampton County Executive - Lamont McClure

NAACP – Tomacene Nickens, Rabbi Levy, Carl Nelson

Clergy – Rabbi Michael Singer, Canon Dale Grandfield

Education – Dr. Roy, Superintendent BASD

Health Department – Kristen Wenrich

Homeless – Bob Rapp, BES

Latino Advisor – Cesar Cordova, Vivian Robledo Shorey, Olga Negron,

Yadira Colon-Lopez

Youth (2) – Spencer Williams, Sydney Duffy

Police - Chief Mark DiLuzio

Police Union – Bill Audelo, President and (to be named)

Teacher's Union – Laura Keding, President

Representative Steve Samuelson

Alex Karras, Chief of Staff